I need help- I was contacted from my listing on FUNNATION by a Russian girl named ANNA OPALEVA. She says she lives in KOZMODEMYANSK in Russia. She is very beautiful in the photos she sent me. She sent very nice letters that seemd well written for a foreigner- articulate in English, with just a few flaws. She claims there are no phones in her small town and writes me allegedly from an Internet cafe. I told her upfront that I had no money. We wrote for about 2 months, then she asked if i was interested in meeting and I remindd her I had no money, but said I would love to meet her. She claims her friend ELENA married an American guy named SMITH, so her friend is now ELENA SMITH. She claims Elena will loan us the money for her to arrive to me. I said OK, and then I was told Elena would send it to me. I have an unused acount so I gave
up that information-that account has only $2 in it
So I was told that Elena would send part of the required funds, and when I forwarded that money to ANNA, then Elena would send the remaining funds. What I cannot understand is why they needed to send me the money and not simply send it directly. I did not think anything would happen, but sure enough- day before yesterday $800 was wired into my account and so i removed it. I told them it did not yet arrive to me.
It came by wire transfer. How does this scam work, or is it possible they are for real? If they are really trying to send Anna here, I waould love that, but all of these frauds have me so sceptical! My understanding of wire transfers was that they are final, and no recourse exists. I do not want to steal this money from honest friendly girls, but I also do not want to be scammed. What can I do? Thanks
Please, go to your bank and ask about that transfer. Scammers send small amounts (say: 20 dollars), but they wash it. Theu make it look like a higher amount. The bank will hold you responsible for the difference.
The scene you describe is not normal behaviour for real girls. Be careful.
2009-09-10, 06:39:40
anonymous
One of the mail adresses this scammer is using, is cathysilver1@hotmail.com.
is this girl scamming me? if anyone knows her please let me know. contact me at timlovestone@yahoo.com. thanks! HAWA MUKAILA FROM ACCRA GHANA. 5FT 7 LEBONESE,23 YRS OLD. OCT 20, 1986. says her dad died in the lebonese war 5 yrs ago, and has been in ghana for 8 months. has a mother who has sickle cell anemia. she says she is a student and cant afford school. she takes art classes and wants to be a journalist. says she dont want money, etc...if anyone knows her please let me know if she is scamming me. thanks! no i wont send her money, im not stupid!
You have received photos and wonder if these photos has been posted here before?
Because you suspect this could be a dating scammer, but you do not want to post this picture?
Try the Picture Search